Bruised middle finger

44fanatic

R.I.P.
Last Wednesday I went out and shot about 18 3" shells and noticed a discomfort. Yesterday, shot 12 3 1/2" shells and now my middle finger on my trigger hand is bruised and swollen. Pretty sure it is the trigger guard hitting it.

Any reccomendations on how to keep this from happening? I dont want to get away from the 3 1/2" shells as it seems that is what I am hitting the birds with...1 duck in the freezer, 1 cripple, and 3 coots (2 recovered) hit.

mathews338

my 10ga does same thing plus my cheek bone takes some punishment. nothing hurt my middle finger worse than a handgun I had once in 454. hold on tight is all I know to do.

pressfit

I have been a trapshooting coach for several years now and like you have shot a shotgun all my life.. I have never heard of anything like this.. not even from the smallest kid who cant even hold his gun up right.. when the gun fires the recoil of course goes backwards along with your shoulder and your hand that your gripping with.. unless you have developed some type of flinch from those 3 inch shells.. (which I would not doubt..) I cant imagine what it could be.. I have seen bruised and bleeding cheeks and shoulders from ill fitting guns but never a middle finger.. once it gets better.. start using the middle finger for your trigger finger and see how it works.. its a little awkard but very doable..

44fanatic

R.I.P.
pressfit said: