young bucks chasing -- question

Greg .

I have a few yearling bucks on my land and the times I've been out, I have seen them heavily into chasing the does and being aggressive toward each other. This morning, heard a snort and chase, and later had a 3 pt yearling with a fresh wound on his right ham (pink meat showing) walk by (within 10 yards, so I got a good look). I think a slightly bigger-bodied and antlered forkie (I saw him, too) did this to him when I heard the snort-chase.

Question -- How much of an indication is this that there aren't any/many adult or mature bucks around? I remember BSK writing that older buck will produce hormones or some substance that suppresses rutting behavior in yearling bucks. These youngsters are serious.

pass-thru

I'm not an expert, but I've read where even with a balanced age structure, close to 20% of does are bread by yearlings. So even with big guys around, yearlings are participating, probably just not to the same degree. I imagine you can probably distinguish among yearlings, some are probably submissive and don't participate at all, some probably chomping at the bit and will fight an older buck, these would be the ones showing rutting behavior no matter what.

On a side not I was hunting this afternoon and had a yearling chase a button buck into range, then sent check him.....almost earned the button (which was a big one) an arrow through the lungs, but thankfully I saw the buttons first.

156p&y