Western KY

Mr. Hawk

I've never hunted KY but wondered if there is that big of a difference in the quality of the bucks there vs Middle TN ( I hunt Putnam/Jackson)? I'm considering buying some land up there to have access to mature deer but wanted opinions from those who have hunted both places. Is it night and day or just hype? Was considering the Christian County and surrounding area to grab 100 or so acres.

I've been hunting my area for 23 years and killing a 140"+ deer feels like winning the lottery.

BSK

140" bucks are not common anywhere outside the Midwest (and not that common even there), but without question, Western KY produces more top-end bucks than most parts of TN, even looking at same-age bucks.

MusicCityCajun

We just got a place between Madisonville and Princeton last year and have been very impressed. I grew up hunting in Southwest Mississippi where mature bucks were routinely 120" but it took something special to reach 140+. Now that we are in KY is it normal to have 3-5 bucks on camera in the 140 range each year, with some years having an older deer get much bigger.

SALTMAN

Me n Daryl's place is on Christian/Hopkins co line . I lived in Mid Tn and hunted all over , including Jackson co .
answer is : buy all you can afford and then some in West Ky . I live in Cadiz and the neighborhood bucks are pretty good also , getting better since one known poacher got too old and had to sell/move . Good management type neighbors help a lot . Talk to some neighbors around the property you might look at . A bad one can cut down on your sucess with management . Got bunch of pics on 145 8 point I took last week . Shows he had all the ingredients he needed to stay close and not wander too far I guess. Joe

TnKen

2-Step Enabled
Wky buck

Attachments

• FC04FCE8-36AB-49AA-B935-E623BBC3AA70.png
    FC04FCE8-36AB-49AA-B935-E623BBC3AA70.png
    362.2 KB · Views: 140

Mr.Bro