Turkey Gun

robin48

I intend to begin the long arduous task of learning to hunt Turkeys this spring. I need suggestions on a good Turkey gun without breaking the bank. I appreciate any help you guys can be.

drrxnupe

I just bought a Mossberg 935 Magnum 26" incher in black for the exact same reason. Set me back ~$450 brand new. So far it spits out 3" shells like a charm. I haven't tried any 2 3/4 or 3 1/2 inchers yet. I look forward to getting it in the woods.

robin48

I just ordered a Mossberg 500 in their Grand Slam Turkey Series. Couldn't pass up that 320.00 price.

buckdead

If you woulda shopped around a lil better you coulda done a lot better. Walmart, Academy, Bass Pro all those places you coulda gotten a 870 for right around $300 or under out the door. IMO the 870 is a much better made gun with a lot more aftermarket parts available, but whatever makes you happy.

robin48 said:
I bet. I am new to turkey hunting. What ammo do you guys recommend?

winchester extended range and environmetals hevi-13 are good shells.
tru-glo strut stopper xtreme is a good choke that works good with those shells

warpheagle

I bought a used Remington 870 3" mag with screw-in chokes about 20 yrs ago. I bought an extra full turkey choke and it works like a charm. You can spend alot more, but can't kill 'em any deader. :)

REN

it comes down to what you can afford/what you need it all for.

if the gun is just for turkey and you are ok with a pump them the 870 or the 835 are GREAT guns.

if you want open i up to autos then the mossberg 935 and the stoeger 2000 are awsome for the price! i got the stoeger last year and LOVE IT. you can find it with 2 barrels (one for turkey one for duck) as well as 2 stocks (pistol grip and field grip) for $400 which is a steal to me...

adamf5353

I strongly recommend the Mossberg 835 Ulti-Mag. I took two turkeys this spring and both over 50 yards with Winchester Supreme 3.5" Turkey Shot #5

Stoner