• Help Support TNDeer:

Second Bird Ever: Down

jlmustain

After baking in the sun hearing nothing Wednesday, then roughing the wind in the woods Thursday, I figured yesterday would be a good day. I'm still learning the basics of turkey hunting, so I while I get disappointed if I don't see anything, I'm a lot more tolerant of blank days since I'm just starting. I go home, write down what I've learned, and try to use the new knowledge the next time I go out. I thought yesterday would be good because it would've been a decent deer day (post-front, clear, cooler than the days prior, post-new moon, etc.), but I saw nothing and heard nothing. Slightly reluctant, I set the alarm for 4:00 am, and went to sleep last night.

When I got to my spot on some private land in Williamson County this morning, it felt the same as yesterday, and by first light, my spirits dampened a bit because it sounded the same, too. Still glad to marinate in the waking woods, I waited patiently and told myself that I was going to do what I knew to do because that's all I could control.

We just switched the sheets on the bed at home yesterday, and as we hunters all know, the bed feels best around 4:00 am, so as my mind drifted to remembering how good that bed felt this morning, and how I might should've stayed there, suddenly the boys and men of the spring woods lit up! One near the field to my left, one in front a couple hollows away, one to my right, another to my right but well past the other one. One after another they gobbled so much and so often that I took an extra moment to try to discern who was a jake and who was a tom. Once I picked out the tom, I headed his way.