Question on DP

deerfever

I am new to trapping and had a question. I run Dukes and caught several coons the last two years . I use mini marshmallows , just put some on the ground then load the trap. Here is my question, I have noticed something getting the Marshmallows , even the ones in the trap except the ones below the pull trigger. What would this be? It's almost like it's smart enough to avoid the ones that would pull the trigger? I thought about setting up a camera but just wondering if anyone had this happen or had a thought on what might be cleaning me out down to the trigger? Thanks

deerfever

I have caught several mice and tweety bird once. Possibly one of those. Typically when it is picked clean, I have found it to be beetles
That is what's strange it just leaves 3 or 4 marshmallows that would make the trap go off. Found two of my traps that way this morning when I checked them.

Last edited:

JCDEERMAN

That is what's strange it just leaves 3 or 4 marshmallows that would make the trap go off. Found two of my traps that way this morning whan I checked them.
My guess is a tweety bird. Anything with a paw will grab and get caught. I'd say a bird got down as far as it could go with its beak. The one I caught must have grabbed the trigger, as he was face-down in it dead 🤣. I just remember looking at it thinking, "man, that's a terrible way to go"

Shanman

I use to have mice and birds clean them out, but they never left any in the trap. So I switched up and started putting the large mellows below the trigger and rest on top and around the trap. Still odd they leave what's bellow your trigger. Could be a cat or grey fox, they scoop out the bait instead of grabbing it. If so, they probably hit the trigger with their paw and refuse to go below it. Try a big mellow below the trigger and nothing else, atleast at the sets they are already visiting. Never used the golf ball trick, but that's a fantastic idea. 👍

deerfever