New deer rifle

AM84

So, I have the itch to purchase a new deer hunting rifle. I haven't hunted at all in several years. The primary gun I was using and still have is a Browning A-Bolt Mountain Ti in .270 WSM. It shoots exceptionally with some hand loads and is nice and light. I have no real reason to get something different I just want to.

So, I'm looking at the new Brownings that were SHOT specials. Specifically the x bolt mountain pro. If not one of those then maybe a Nosler rifle or Christensen. I want something light weight.

I can't decide on caliber between a .28/.30 Nosler or a .300 WSM if I can get the Browning I want. I have no experience with the Nosler rounds. I have another gun chambered in 300 WSM though Im not in love with it (the gun not the caliber). If I went with a Nosler rifle or Christensen then the choice for caliber opens up a little to 27/26 Nosler amongst others.

I don't shoot long distances (will never shoot more than 400 yards and mostly will never shoot more than 150 yards 99% of the time) where I hunt and have no plans to be anywhere where I would. Due to shorter barrel and weight/ease of handling, I'm leaning the way of the .300 WSM but let's hear your opinions on the Nosler round and if/why I should pick it.

At the end of the day I know these may be a bit overkill but the Browning is chambered in a couple different 6.5's and then jumps straight to 7Mag and up.

Last edited:

AM84

The Christensen Mesa TI is an incredible value for what you get. A Ti action and barrel alone would close close to what the rifle costs.
That was the Christensen I was looking at and considering from them. If I went with that rifle it would likely be the .308 since they offer it.

rodeojoe