Hummingbirds

FTP

Good morning, not exactly sure which forum to put this in. But here goes, usually at this time of the summer I have anywhere from 80-120 hummers at about a dozen feeders. It is one of the most impressive views of nature that I've seen, sometimes it looks like a beehive. I've been feeding these little guys since 2007 every year. Anyways this season I've seen 2-3 birds, something catastrophic must've occurred. I've contacted the TWRA, they were not much help, and I've left a couple of messages with other "professionals"
Is anyone else observing his drastic reduction in numbers?

jag1

Years ago I quit using feeders. I have flower plantings that bring them in. Can't imagine how much work you're putting into a dozen feeders. Concerning the numbers, I haven't noticed a reduction in my numbers this year.

MrJim43

2-Step Enabled
WE are down to almost none. Maybe 3 at the most.They have declined over the last 3 or 4 years for us. Sure miss the little ones

FTP

Unlike most of your comments, I had no reduction in numbers until this Spring. I did notify the TWRA, their guy said their counts this Spring have been normal. He had no idea why I was seeing so few birds.

DoubleRidge

Middle TN.....3 feeders.... normally we will have 10 to 15 hummingbirds.....this year 1 or 2.....the most we've seen at the same time is 3.....so yes, for us it's a significant drop.

Stumpsitter

I've noticed it too. I've only had 3 or 4. I generally have at least a dozen. I fear they might go the way of the quail and grouse have went in my area the Southern Cumberland plateau .

FTP

I'm wondering if after they left here last Fall, was there a late season Hurricane or such that affected Central America and maybe killed a large number of them... just speculating.

Mag

2-Step Enabled
I typically don't see any until later in the year but haven't seen a single one yet.

Big Pop