First traditional bow kill (video)

Wiggy

Got my first traditional bow kill. Words can't express how blessed I feel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=erClgW_Zx0I

I started shooting a recurve bow when I was 9 years old, and I started bowhunting when I was 14. I've taken deer with a compound and crossbow but up until now I haven't gotten anything with a recurve.

fairchaser

Cool video wiggy. Were you using a gopro? I'm trying to video some hunts this year with my gopro and wondering if you had some advice. Great buck by the way. Congrats!

southernhunter

Awesome vid and deer. Is that the samick sage ? I bought a samick journey same bow longer limbs . Mine is very loud. But I am hoping to get s shot with it this year at some point.

Wiggy

Thanks guys!

The camera I used is actually a Sony Cybershot. I'm not even sure if they still make them anymore. The GoPro would probably have better battery life than this camera does. The best advice I can give for filming your hunts is to get good camera mounts. I have one mount on my treestand and I use a telescopic tripod. The more options you have, the better.

It is a Samick Sage bow. I have found that with the Samick bows they are very picky about brace height. You really have to play around with it to get it to quiet down but once you find the proper brace height for the quietest shot they tend to be very nice. Mine is quiet enough that I never thought about string silencers or anything. Also, the Dacron string expands and contracts a LOT with changing temperature and humidity so your brace height can fluctuate wildly. I check mine before I go out every day and every day it's different so I have to twist/untwist the string to get it back to where it needs to be.

Tennessee Lead

How cool was that!
Congrats to you that's a great buck. That's awesome to kill it with a traditional bow from the ground. Very impressive.

Sent from the barrel of a model 70 at 3300 fps

AllOutdoors