Farm pond hunting?

Reemus Buckshot

We have several small farm ponds throughout our property. One is pretty large. It is about 200 yards long and 100 yards wide. My question is...has anyone hunted any ponds like this successfully? If so, what were your strategies as far as decoys and calling? The ponds have good surrounding cover and hold beavers so I don't know why they wouldn't hold ducks from time to time. The ponds are about a half mile to a mile from a fairly large river (loosahatchie) so I was wondering if anyone thought any ducks might pass through? I am new to duck hunting so I am not sure. As far as scouting out this location for next year, what do you suggest I do?

rukiddin

I grew up hunting farm ponds in NC. We have shot everything off farmponds, from mallards and woodducks to canvasbacks and goldeneyes off quarter acre mudholes. For the life of me, I can't figure out why some ponds hold ducks and others that APPEAR to be identical and less than 1/2 mile from each other will hold nothing.
I know of one farm pond, approxmately 5 acres, that will hold just about every duck that flies the flyway. 2 weeks ago there was 800+ ducks, mainly mallards, gadwalls and jacks. there is no hunting allowed and there is no baiting either. The owner is a elderly lady and she is very polite and nice, she has a handicapped daughter that likes to birdwatch so that is the reason for the no hunting. But she has told me that she remembers her husband duck hunting in the early 60's and he would shoot "several" ducks off the pond so IMO the ducks have just imprinted on this pond over the years. I have permission to hunt 3 ponds all within 1 mile of this place and they never hold that many ducks and they look "duckier" than the pond mentioned.

Spoonbillmallard