Food Plots Dove Fields

drrxnupe

Could someone post their recipe for a good dove field? I'm referring to what to plant (prefer manual mix instead of high dollar bird on the bag mixes)? How close to tree line or other cover? Best time to put seed in the ground? When to cut? How to cut? The field will be in Mississippi and I'm honestly not sure if laws are different with regards to hunting over cut fields.

spoon

Sunflower by May 1st and bushhog them about august first spray to kill them and bushhog them about 2 weeks later

drrxnupe

I ended up disking a 6.5 acre field. Then I broadcasting 150# of a co-op mix called doves-a-plenty and 300# of urea over ~4 acres. Afterwards I ran my cultipacker over it and the rain came as I was finishing up. We'll see how it goes.

pressfit

I have been doing dove fields for 25 years or more... IMO... nothing beats a fresh disked and top sown winter wheat crop.. sown about a week before the season..

Hunter 257W

pressfit said:
I have been doing dove fields for 25 years or more... IMO... nothing beats a fresh disked and top sown winter wheat crop.. sown about a week before the season..

By "Top Sowed" do you mean just broadcasting the wheat on top of the ground and making no effort to cover it? If so, isn't that just baiting under a different name??

drrxnupe

Hunter 257W said:
pressfit said:

By "Top Sowed" do you mean just broadcasting the wheat on top of the ground and making no effort to cover it? If so, isn't that just baiting under a different name??

That was my question...

Sounds good but I'm afraid to get in trouble??

hitek7

You can legally dove hunt over "top sewn" wheat. The ground has to be disced to mostly dirt before broadcasting and I think you can do like 200 lbs per acre.

Hunter 257W

hitek7 said:
You can legally dove hunt over "top sewn" wheat. The ground has to be disced to mostly dirt before broadcasting and I think you can do like 200 lbs per acre.