Choke recommendations for Remington Model 870

FLTENNHUNTER1

12 Gauge Remington Model 870 SPS Super Mag Max Gobbler

Came with super full turkey choke but I would like to try something new. Suggestions?

TiminTN

FLTENNHUNTER1":h4eodqtk said:
12 Gauge Remington Model 870 SPS Super Mag Max Gobbler

Came with super full turkey choke but I would like to try something new. Suggestions?

I shoot a .660 Rhino choke and the Winchester Longbeard XR 2 oz #4 ammo out of my 870 Supermag, very lethal, great patterns.

FLTENNHUNTER1

Thanks guys.

I mainly shoot Remington Premier High Velocity Magnum copper plated 3.5 inch in #4 , #5, and number #6. Will probably pattern the 4's this weekend using the factory choke. Sounds like I need to order a couple different chokes.

I'm a choke beginner, so what does the .665 number mean?

Andy S.

.665" is the choke diameter. Smaller number equates to a tighter choke, which typically creates a tighter shot string for better patterns at extended distances (40-60 yards). For reference on an 870 12 gauge, the bore diameter is .727", the full choke is .691", modified is .709", and improved cylinder is .720". See this chart for reference:

https://support.remington.com/General_I ... strictions

FLTENNHUNTER1

Andy S.":2q1liwoy said:
.665" is the choke diameter. Smaller number equates to a tighter choke, which typically creates a tighter shot string for better patterns at extended distances (40-60 yards). For reference on an 870 12 gauge, the bore diameter is .727", the full choke is .691", modified is .709", and improved cylinder is .720". See this chart for reference:

https://support.remington.com/General_I ... strictions

Thanks Andy for educating me. Great information!

Southern Sportsman

Andy S.":1g6bmoxb said:
.665" is the choke diameter. Smaller number equates to a tighter choke, which typically creates a tighter shot string for better patterns at extended distances