Catfish Bait

Atchman2

So this week I tried something I have never tried before, a prepared catfish bait from Academy. It was in the clearance bin so I tried it. It was garlic pickled shad, only four to a pack. This year I have had a VERY hard time catching catfish in the lake. That is despite watching Catfish Dave haul them in a dozen at a time. The sad thing is I know where he is fishing, but obviously experience matters a lot.

Well with the prepared bait I caught a catfish on every one of them. That just reinforces to me that good bait is the key to catfishing. I mean I have all of the technology, rigs, etc, but haven't had very much success. I guess I need to go down to Lakeshore park with my throw net and load up on shad and pickle them. :D

Catfish Dave this week was using pork chops for bait! While I don't think I would use pork chops, I wouldn't mind trying some of this wild boar I have in the freezer. It is probably getting near freezer burn status anyway.

I did order a bunch of blank lures this week to make my own Demon Dragons. I don't actually think the lure part matters that much, but I would bet the rattle does.

agelessssone

So this week I tried something I have never tried before, a prepared catfish bait from Academy. It was in the clearance bin so I tried it. It was garlic pickled shad, only four to a pack. This year I have had a VERY hard time catching catfish in the lake. That is despite watching Catfish Dave haul them in a dozen at a time. The sad thing is I know where he is fishing, but obviously experience matters a lot.

Well with the prepared bait I caught a catfish on every one of them. That just reinforces to me that good bait is the key to catfishing. I mean I have all of the technology, rigs, etc, but haven't had very much success. I guess I need to go down to Lakeshore park with my throw net and load up on shad and pickle them. :D