Carp in pond with bread = awesome fun

catman529

I'm a freshman in college and a few miles from my school in Brentwood TN there is a pond behind some restaurants by the road....full of carp, some look just like koi from a backyard pond and others look like regular colored carp. They go from around a foot long to 2 feet long, and all I have to do is throw some white bread pieces in the water to bring them in. They start rolling on the surface and eating the bread and then I'll float a piece on a hook and catch them right off the surface.

And then occasionally a big grey submarine will come up and silently eat a piece of bread, and then go back down. They are a LOT more easily spooked than the smaller carp. They're the big ole grass carp and the most fun to catch, in part because they're more of a challenge and also because they're so much bigger. They can push 3 feet long and I love when they run out a bunch of my line...nothing like the thrill of hooking a big one, even if it's a stocked carp in some random pond by the road.
154809_1637166203281_1060508090_1792971_3842880_n.jpg

Looks bigger in person than in the pic...at least 2 1/2 feet long

Oh and just so you all know I don't just fish with bread in ponds, I've been fishing in the Harpeth river for 7 years and I have to say that wild river fish put up a much better fight than any stocked pond fish, hands down. Something to do with the current in the river, makes them work harder to swim, so they fight harder. And more of a challenge to catch when they're wild and not used to humans throwing bread in to feed them and the ducks.

catman529

Dang that's a big fish, I need to find a place here where they get that big...do you eat them? I wouldn't eat them out of the pond I fish because of all the runoff from streets and parking lots in the area.

catman529