Burris Fastfire Question

B

bowhunterfanatic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
2,398
Location
McNairy County
Burris doesn't make a Speedbead for an 1187 20 gauge, so what do I need in order to mount the sight on my gun?
 
Roost 1

Roost 1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
8,972
Location
Anywher and everywhere
I’d drill and tap the receiver and use a weaver base. If the 336 mount would work on the 1187 id use it.
Of course you’ll need picatinny base for FF3 if you use the weaver base.
 
B

bowhunterfanatic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
2,398
Location
McNairy County
Roost 1":1wbx5uee said:
I’d drill and tap the receiver and use a weaver base. If the 336 mount would work on the 1187 id use it.
Of course you’ll need picatinny base for FF3 if you use the weaver base.

Sounds easy enough. Thanks!
 
E

elknturkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
761
Drill for 336 base. Two 8-40 holes 1/2" apart. Easy peazy. Have someone local do it

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
TN Larry

TN Larry

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6,642
Location
Baxter, Tennessee
Roost 1":3nejbjwr said:
I’d drill and tap the receiver and use a weaver base. If the 336 mount would work on the 1187 id use it.
Of course you’ll need picatinny base for FF3 if you use the weaver base.

So what exactly do I need for the FF3? I got one last year and need to get it mounted.
 
Andy S.

Andy S.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 1999
Messages
21,672
Location
Atoka, TN
Roost 1":wdvg89wn said:
If the 336 mount would work on the 1187 id use it.
This is the only way to go if you can make it work. I set this one up few years back on an old school Mossberg 500 as a backup turkey gun, but never hunted with it.

tQLzg6F.jpg


F5eEOFg.jpg


bxBJdxQ.jpg
 
Roost 1

Roost 1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
8,972
Location
Anywher and everywhere
TN Larry":1ivjatsu said:
Roost 1":1ivjatsu said:
I’d drill and tap the receiver and use a weaver base. If the 336 mount would work on the 1187 id use it.
Of course you’ll need picatinny base for FF3 if you use the weaver base.



So what exactly do I need for the FF3? I got one last year and need to get it mounted.

What gun are you wanting to put it on?
 
TN Larry

TN Larry

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6,642
Location
Baxter, Tennessee
Andy S.

Andy S.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 1999
Messages
21,672
Location
Atoka, TN
TN Larry":575gfg9z said:
So, the mount for the Marlin 336 will fit on an 870?
I've seen numerous 870s on OG with it mounted to them.
 
Southern Sportsman

Southern Sportsman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
3,087
Location
West TN
TN Larry":i99bw04i said:
Thanks! So, the mount for the Marlin 336 will fit on an 870? Seems like I read that last year.

Yes. The gun just needs a flat surface to drill and tap. I’m sure thre are a few shotguns that won’t accommodate the 336 mount, but most will. I have a new ff3 that I plan to mount like this on my 870 for this season.
 
TN Larry

TN Larry

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6,642
Location
Baxter, Tennessee
Thanks guys! I found one on Amazon for a few bucks cheaper and will be here on Thursday. I've got to get it on and sighted in.
 
Andy S.

Andy S.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 1999
Messages
21,672
Location
Atoka, TN
TN Larry":39s2iy59 said:
I've got to get it on and sighted in.
Start with some lead 7.5s to get it on paper, and get it about dead on, maybe 1/2" low. THEN, shoot you a high dollar TSS shell to see if POA = POI. :tu:
 
TN Larry

TN Larry

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
6,642
Location
Baxter, Tennessee
Andy S.":2aeymggq said:
TN Larry":2aeymggq said:
I've got to get it on and sighted in.
Start with some lead 7.5s to get it on paper, and get it about dead on, maybe 1/2" low. THEN, shoot you a high dollar TSS shell to see if POA = POI. :tu:

Yeah, that's the plan. There won't be a TSS down the pipe until I've got it lined up with cheap lead. :)
 
david k.

david k.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
735
Location
Rossville, TN
Andy S.":eqd896cz said:
Roost 1":eqd896cz said:
If the 336 mount would work on the 1187 id use it.
This is the only way to go if you can make it work. I set this one up few years back on an old school Mossberg 500 as a backup turkey gun, but never hunted with it.

tQLzg6F.jpg


F5eEOFg.jpg


bxBJdxQ.jpg


That is a slick set-up Andy....I'm watching for an 835 and this is exactly what I plan to do with it.
 
S

SKFOOTER

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2013
Messages
2,626
Location
HARDEMAN COUNTY
Get a B Square Rib Mount, cut it in half, mount it to your rib and mount the FastFire to it.
 
Southern Sportsman

Southern Sportsman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
3,087
Location
West TN
TN Larry":2w407j2y said:
Thanks! So, the mount for the Marlin 336 will fit on an 870? Seems like I read that last year.

Yep.
3sH3YjS.jpg



Also, midway shows the 336 mount out of stock. I’ve ordered a couple from optics planet for about the same price.
 

Similar threads

S
Replies
0
Views
684
SKFOOTER
S
M
Replies
2
Views
247
Andy S.
Andy S.
Southern Sportsman
Replies
11
Views
3K
Southern Sportsman
Southern Sportsman
R
Replies
10
Views
3K
LanceS4803
LanceS4803

Latest posts

Top