Favorite skinning knife

Hduke86

Old timer Sharp Finger 82FC7C3E-2F41-494A-9597-B4D3C215C1E9.jpeg

I've gutted 14 this season Alone. 19 last season. All skinned, some quartered. Many deboned (other states)
I've used SOOOOOOO many different knives over the years.
I've decided the only way to go for ultralight, razor sharp, gutting without popping stomach is a gut hook.
And skinning is a different knife.

I simply do not have time (or skill) to sharpen knives. I am not a 1-3 deer per season hunter. If I were, I'd use a Gerber with a gut hook and resharpen it.

So for me...it's either Havalon with gut hook and skinning blade OR a Outdoor edge razor lite with the same.

Wolverine72

Havalon was my go to knife for several years. I was very happy with it since I'm not good at sharpening knives. I skin and quarter all of my deer in the woods.
One of the weird COVID blessings was a lot of overtime at my work. I decided on a whim to splurge and buy a benchmade hidden canyon hunting knife. I also purchased a benchmade Pardue hunting knife. The hidden canyon knife has now skinned and quartered I think 7 deer. I've done very little touchup with a ceramic rod and NO sharpening. This thing is almost as sharp as day 1. When I do need it sharpened, I'll send it back to benchmade for factory sharpening for free.
The Pardue knife has skinned and quartered 2 deer and is still extremely sharp as well. I prefer the look of the pardue knife, but prefer the feel and real life use of the hidden canyon knife.
No joke, these are not cheap (about $150), but they are worth every penny.
To skin and quarter 10 deer, I would use no less than 10 Havalon blades (probably more like 15). The benchmade will pay for itself in just a few years.
Spend good money on good arrows, excellent broadheads and a good knife. 3 things that will make a noticeable difference when hunting.

Lost Lake