What I like about this pic.

Harold Money jr

BAB62255-BF9C-45C4-8B45-B7A3E520B486.jpeg

I have a chestnut oak tree that has always dropped very early, like middle of August yellow and brown acorns. I had picked up my camera to move on fresh sign, so I checked that tree and as I hoped, there was fresh and old popped hulls and acorns were raining down. There was old and fresh droppings too. Since season is not open yet I hung the camera like I was going to hunt the spot. The camera is pointed away from the food tree in the direction that I figured the deer would come from and I'd have about a 10yd recurve shot if I were hunting this evening. I have a tree with pegs already set up about 10yds to the left of this camera. I'd have had this buck in close range coming from down wind. Btw this is a south facing slope, the camera is facing due west into a bedding thicket and that's where the prevailing wind comes from. I'm new to the cameras and they've confirmed and taught me alot about what's out there. Anyway that's what I like about this pic.

Ski

Looks like an outstanding spot. South facing slope with thicket and a feed tree just a few yards away so the buck can bed in the thicket and feel safe hitting the tree in daylight. During winter that thicket will get full sun and should be good bedding.

And you are correct about cameras. I learned more about deer behavior in the first year I ran a camera than I did in the lifetime of hunting before it. Now I run many of them. The devil is in the details. I find myself going back to reference years old photos and cross referencing them with historical weather data, moon position, etc. that coincides with the date and time a photo was taken. Weather Underground is perfect for that. It's amazing the patterns you can pick out that you'd never have noticed while hunting.