Great article/research on bucks shifting range during the season

BSK

Saw this article about research on the difference between late-summer baited camera censuses and non-baited cameras running during the season. As many know, I've been doing both for 24 years on my place. The article stated a possible 60% increase in the number of bucks cameras pick up from summer to fall. Depending upon the local conditions, I can promise you it can be far more than that! I've had a couple of years where I documented a 800% increase! (from 6 to 54).

But even more interesting was his discussion of buck distributions from summer to fall. His summer baited camera census showed extreme sexual segregation, where bucks and does were living very separate lives during summer. But in fall, the bucks all shifted to where the does were hanging out. This documents what many on here have said for years: when it comes close to the rut, hunt where the does are!

JCDEERMAN

Very cool! Love reading these research studies. Nothing extremely new, necessarily, other than the passive cameras versus the baited cameras. I saw this first hand on the first velvet hunt here in TN. I set out cams on field edges and trails looking for a buck to hunt. Wow - the number of bucks I captured (and their age/size) never even visited the "baited" salt/mineral licks. I couldn't believe it.

Oh, and those heat maps are awesome!

BSK

Very cool! Love reading these research studies. Nothing extremely new, necessarily, other than the passive cameras versus the baited cameras. I saw this first hand on the first velvet hunt here in TN. I set out cams on field edges and trails looking for a buck to hunt. Wow - the number of bucks I captured (and their age/size) never even visited the "baited" salt/mineral licks. I couldn't believe it.

Oh, and those heat maps are awesome!