question from a novice

416wbymag

This will be my first year turkey hunting. I took one last year during archery but it was just luck. They came out into the field at the wrong place and time.

Problem is I will be hunting 1800 wooded area with only one or two small (1/2 acre) fields. The place is loaded with turkeys but I just stumble upon them occasionally.

Any pointers on how to start about it this season??

Thanks in advance

RussellvilleRob

I am no expert either, but I would try to get out there a couple weeks before season starts and find where they are roosting. Then I would find out where they fly down. This would give you a heck of a starting point.

I wouldnt call during the observation times. This may screw it up for you when real hunting does take place.

I am not really a run & gun type hunter. I just spend alot of time in the woods prior to the season and try to pattern them. Sometimes I get lucky and a nice one walks right up to the end of my gun barrel.

I am sure the run & gun style would be more fun. I just dont have the acreage for that.

416wbymag

thanks for the reply but that brings up one of my problems, You always read find fields and open areas to find where they are roosting.. I assume these guys are roosting in the middle of the woods somewhere, but where to start? Old road beds? Creek beds? Wonder aimlessly through the woods with an owl call?

I am usually deep in the woods when I see them (during deer season).

Thanks again

Baxter83

Most of the birds I've seen fly to roost have been close to water. At my grandpas farm I used to watch them fly up all the time while deer hunting. This past weekend I was out deer hunting a WMA along the lake and a flock of about 20 or so came from the middle of the woods to an area just inside the woods from the bank and flew up. They were pretty much overlooking the water. Last year was my first year so I'm a novice myself. Maybe some better detailed info will come along.

deerchaser007