Why are WMA only open tue,Thur,and Saturday?

lbh

I don't think it's about over pressuring because you can still go on the property and scout or I've seen people ride horses,walking there dogs. My issue with this is 1st if you work your limited to just evening hunting or Saturday and the hunters have to buy the type 94 permit but the average joe gets to access the property for free and for more days the math doesn't add up to me maybe I could understand if it wasn't archery only

FTP

I'll tell you the bigger issue, public land and limited access. They won't listen to the hunters and people who want to use public land. Not all of us have the luck of being able to hunt private property, open these WMAs up and stop the tyranny!

Walker817

I've been hunting those wma in Hixson for 10 to 15 years. I'm telling you, if they were open 7 days a week during season, there would be no deer to hunt. It would definitely be way over hunted. Some all ready are.

FTP

I've been hunting those wma in Hixson for 10 to 15 years. I'm telling you, if they were open 7 days a week during season, there would be no deer to hunt. It would definitely be way over hunted. Some all ready are.
Not the case with Cheatham Walker817
Since the Blue Tongue outbreak in 2007 this place has become a ghost town, people on this thread have gotten their panties ruffled by my comments, but I've hunted this WMA since 1994, and it is by far not overused, not in the least bit.
just wish the TWRA would allow the public to use public land like it should be.

FTP

One Saturday morning just a week or 2 ago, one of those Hixson tracts had 9 vehicles in the parking lot. If they were open every day of the week the tracts in Hixson would be decimated. Those tracts are not that big.
Cheatham is 22k acres
You could get lost and never heard from again looking for another hunter on the Cheatham WMA.

Granddaddy

I was wondering why the wma's in Hixson are only open to hunting those 3 days a week