when to, how to...

Eli103

turkey season is in sight. Now I'e hunted with pops since I could learn to keep my mouth shut. Recently I've started to watch Catman's videos from the past, I was wondering when is the right time to call, and what kind of call to use. My main strengths or I think are my main strengths are the wing bone and a box call. I need some advice on how to get better and when t starting calling.

SteveJ

I'm no pro so most of these others could give better advice. I learned just watching videos. I like the primos guys and I used to watch Michael Waddell back when I started. I would just sit down on the couch and try to match what they would do as far as learning what a call should sound like and how to improve my calling.

As far as when to call, I think some of that just takes experience. The more you hunt, the more you learn when to call and when to keep quiet. I've had to learn the hard way many times but I learned a little.

My advice would be before season, is practice at home while watching someone experienced. Then just get in the woods and try it and learn from your mistakes. If you have someone to go with who knows more, go with them and learn from what they do

Eli103

Go ahead and add a pot call to your arsenal if you haven't already. It don't have to be an expensive one to learn on. But once you learn it, its probably the easiest call to master in my opinion.
I have a couple that are my dads, never really got it down, i got a couple weeks to practice. wished catman had educational videos on how to do certain calls

Bone Collector

I have a couple that are my dads, never really got it down, i got a couple weeks to practice. wished catman had educational videos on how to do certain calls
there are videos by others that are instructional. I have never used a box call. I went to the NWTF convention and a guy showed me how and i was running one in a matter of minutes.