What is wrong with East Tennessee?

GoldenEagle09

IMO

1.) Habitat
2.) Terrain is tougher to locate deer and their travel patterns
3.) Lack of Deer Density
4.) Lack of Deer Density means when deer are taken, hunters are less likely to consider passing bucks. (Like Me!)
5.) Lack of Time you are able to spend in the woods.

Example: I only get to hunt the One Week of Thanksgiving in McMinn Co., which is one of the better E. Tennessee counties. In 6 hunts I had seen a total of 11 deer. 9 does and 2 bucks... a cow horn and a 6pt. On the third hunt I saw the cow horn dogging a doe, and you know what??? I shot the cow horn! Then my last hunt on Saturday morning the 6pt came flying down the ridge and there was no way I could take a shot at him.

I am still new to hunting (4 years) so my selectivity isn't there yet... Low deer pop. + little time... = Trigger Happy

Hunting isn't terrible in E. Tennessee, but you have to consider the various factors like many people on here have stated. :2c:

TheLBLman

archer19":1hb7qlyc said:
Wes Parrish":1hb7qlyc said:
There is no single answer to the question of why are deer densities so relatively low in East TN vs. the rest of TN.

But the reasons include ("generalizing" here, as localized exceptions abound) in order of significance:

1) Poorer habitat that cannot support as many deer
2) More deer hunters
3) More poachers (my opinion, may not be fact)

4) Different attitudes among East TN hunters vs other hunters (not saying this is good or bad, just part of why there are fewer deer).
. . . . . . . .

What do you mean by #4 ?????????
I hunt deer. Don't know why my location makes my attitude different?
In YOUR personal case, your location may make no difference at all.
Remember I said "generally speaking" and exceptions abound.