Food Plots spring food plot

splatter

The friend of mine who's farm i hunt on has made me an offer. He will do all the plowing and get the ground ready if I will buy the seed for 5 micro plots on his farm. My question is if you were planting in the spring what would you plant. Also would you save a couple spots and plant later for the fall? New this stuff and just wondering.

DoubleRidge

We did beans and peas in our spring/summer plots....deer hammered them....then in late September we seeded a fall blend of wheat, oats, rye, crimson clover and rape in those same plots....we were fortunate to get some good rain and they are thick and green now......I will warn you though...you mention micro plots....small plots of soybeans and peas will get wiped out quickly if there is no other Ag in your area....I'm studying on an electric fence system to run around some of our smaller plots just to keep the deer off them until they are mature enough to handle heavy browsing....also pull soil test and if the budget allows....fertilize and lime per test results ...QDMA has allot of information about food plots as well as Growing Deer TV....tons of good reading material on the topic as well as videos....one big hurdle many guys experience is having the equipment to get the job done...and it sounds like you have that taken care of.....good luck with your future food plots!

Popcorn

2-Step Enabled
Cookeville, TN Cadiz, KY and random other places
In micro plots we can only get clover to stand the browse. To start I plant ladino with wheat or rye and some annual clover. As the clover establishes the weeds will fill in thin spots so each spring / fall add a little more seed. Throw in some turnips and radishes each end of august. Take soil samples, spray religously and mow when required. Treat it like a royal clover garden and that is what you will have.

Ski

small plots of soybeans and peas will get wiped out quickly if there is no other Ag in your area