Speaking of crappie fishing

Spurhunter

I'm no pro but I do my fair share of pushing minners and jigs. Myself and all the guys I fish with use hi vis. I do, however, only use it down to my drop. I use clear line on my drop. I've experimented with clear mono and clear flouro on my drops. I can't tell if it matters. Some of the guys I fish with that are better than me use hi vis throughout.

bluball

Kylake hi vis would probally be ok,but if fishing clear water i would probally not recommend hi vis.I use hi vis on my pulling poles,main line on spider poles with blue/clear leaders.On my jig polesi have a couple with light lb hi vis mono line but most have dpidereire stealth braid white 8lb.

RobDooley

No pro here either. I use Vicious Hi-Viz when jigging with soft plastics...it's a must for this old man. As someone previously stated...crappie are not line shy. I use Berkley mono when fishing with minnows under a float. Hi-Viz will work just fine too.

fairchaser

I've seen where they can be line shy to the hi vis. I watch my pole tips anyway. I figure if I can see it so can the fish.

sll

I've seen where they can be line shy to the hi vis. I watch my pole tips anyway. I figure if I can see it so can the fish.
I have this same mentality myself......always have, always will. But, in reality there are probably very few instances except in gin-clear water that it makes a difference......and I am talking about clarity like we have in some of our highland reservoirs here in NE TN where you can see a Pepsi can laying on the bottom in 15 feet of water. I mean really, if a bass will hit lures tied directly to 1/8" stainless wires on an Alabama Rig they really can't be that line shy at times.

Tennessee280

I just stick with the ol trusty 6lb berkley low-vis green smooth casting

1636656183087.png

WTM