Small rifle magnum primers

Duck dogn

Please don't bash me but I have a question. I've been reloading for several years, I'd say I know alittle about it but I always follow the books precisely because I load for my daughters rifle and make sure all is safe. My 5.56/223 call for winchester small rifle primers and my grendel calls for small rifle primers. How ever Alexander calls for magnum primers in the 6.5 . I found small rifle magnum primers in stock locally and bought some, I've been reading online about using magnum primers causes the bullet to move outward prior to full powder ignition. I'm loading ten thousandths from the lands and mid range on what the book calls for in powder, in both rifles because that's what groups well. I use varget powder do you all have experience with the magnum primers in smaller calibers and varget? Thanks in advance.

MUP

In the case of the .223/5.56 I would consider crimping the bullet in the case, not only for keeping the bullet from sliding back into the case during firing, but would also help keep the bullet stationary during ignition as well. Just my thinking.

backyardtndeer

I bought some magnum primers but have not run any yet. I plan to do some testing when it cools down. From what I read, it is suggested to back off the load just a little and work up. Also read that cci41 military primers are basically magnum primers with a harder cup for making slam fires unlikely in ar's I had not seen anything to say there would be a premature bullet jump from a magnum primer ignition.

I have been running Remington small rifle 6 1/2 for small pistol 9mm with no issues.

FredRog72