River floaters

Rammer Jammer

I've got plenty of experience floating in kayaks and love it! Duck river is mostly all I float. My oldest son is 10 and he's not ready to float in his own kayak…. So I'm looking at a canoe so we can float together. Any of y'all have experience with old town saranac canoes? Would this be a good option for us?

BigCityBubba

I don't have the saranac but old town makes awesome canoes. I have a 16'9 and my family and friends all have old towns. I think there are probably around 7 old towns in our group. The only recommendation I can make is to get the smallest one you can get away with if the person in the front isn't going to be experienced. If its just you and your son, I would go with the 14'6. If you plan on putting 3 in the canoe, go longer.

Rammer Jammer

I don't have the saranac but old town makes awesome canoes. I have a 16'9 and my family and friends all have old towns. I think there are probably around 7 old towns in our group. The only recommendation I can make is to get the smallest one you can get away with if the person in the front isn't going to be experienced. If its just you and your son, I would go with the 14'6. If you plan on putting 3 in the canoe, go longer.
The 14'6" is the one I'm looking at. Thanks! My son would be at the front only fishing so all the control would be by me in the back.

BigCityBubba