Recommendations for Harnessess

MarlinSlayer

Well I've been a lurker for a while and finally decided to participate. I am a self-taught hunter starting my second season. I'll post the story of a turkey my son and I got solo based on the knowledge gleaned on here and youtube. (Finally managed to find the darn crop!)

I grew up in Hawaii and never hunted except for an occasional duck hunt in a neighbors blind (twice in ten years). Last year I said "the heck with it", borrowed a friends climber and just went out and started hunting public land. (All my hunting friends who promised to take me kinda never came through except one really good guy).

So I learned a lot last year with borrowed equipment...(this year I bought A Summit Viper). The harness I used last year was a HSS vest which was nice and I thought I might want to get something like that...maybe the one with the reversible blaze orange....so I wouldnt need to don one more item of clothing. But now I am thinking that I might want to be able to trade out outer layers in the stand as I heat up or cool down. I'm saving the harness that came with the stand for when one of my kids joins me in a ladder on the land I leased.

For a climber ---do you use a vest style or a minimal harness style. Do you wear it under an outer-layer and how does that work? Do you have any recommendations? Last year (Freshman year) I was gun only and got a late start. Right now I'm a gun/muzzy guy (haven't shot the Muzzy yet). Next year I will graduate and attempt to be a super elite archer ;-)

I plan on getting a tree strap with a descent line and hook on with a prussic knot. Even though I know I ought to be able to recover to the stand with a climber, I am still paranoid that since I hunt alone I might need to save myself. Though I won't be climbing the same trees all the time (remember public land) I am justifying the descent line as a dual purpose haul line for my pack.....and I'll use a regular haul-line for my gun.