New Field-judging buck age examples

BSK

First, let me emphasize that field-judging age is an art and not a science. Although I've been perfecting my skills for many years, I still only get 4 out of 5 buck ages right. Let me also emphasize that deer from different geographic regions will have different body conformation characteristics by age. All of the following pictures are TN bucks. In fact, they are all from just one property in western Middle TN. However, most TN bucks (and those in northern AL and MS, as well as AR, VA, and much of KY) will follow these body conformation rules. Body size by age is definitely latitude linked. Bucks farther south or north will display different body conformation per age-class.

Second, when field-judging buck age, always, always, ALWAYS ignore the antlers. I've seen 80-class yearlings and 80-class 5 1/2 year-old bucks. Antlers will fool you more often than any other feature. Just look at the body.

The two most important body characteristics which most consistently indicate age are: 1) the length of the legs in comparison to the vertical thickness of the body; and 2) the juncture of the neck with the front of the shoulders. Those two characteristics seem to be the best for judging TN bucks.

Also remember that the aging characteristics most often used are best assessed only around the rut. In fact, most bucks will not fully display these chest/neck musculatures until within 30 days of peak breeding for the local area.

Yearling (1 1/2 year-old) bucks:

Yearling bucks are best described as "does with antlers." They have the gracile necks of does, and the long bodies of does. Some yearling bucks will have body musculature greater than does, but the almost always have legs that look very long for the thickness of the body.