Just booked an elk outfitter for 2018

EastTNHunter

2-Step Enabled
This feels really weird to pay a guide, but I've never been to Colorado, much less elk hunted. All of my experienced friends were on a different schedule, and my dad is a 60 year old stroke survivor with knees that are starting to head downhill, and I need to make sure to keep him safe and healthy. We've done a lot of homework, but really don't know what to expect until we get there since I'm a rookie. Hoping and praying for good elk hunting weather. My dad and I have talked about this since I was a kid and are just now getting to do it. I'm excited and nervous at the same time, and have a lot of saving and preparing to do before next October's first rifle season. I am not an experienced horse rider, but will need to get a little experience in before heading out. I plan to use the gear that I already own, but will need to buy some gaiters and other various items.

GMU 24, White River National Forest, which I understand has lots of elk but less trophy potential than other areas, which is just fine by us. Public land that is hard to access without horses. I hope to do a DIY hunt in the future once I have learned a bit more. Wish me luck.

EastTNHunter

2-Step Enabled