I Blew It

LanceS4803

Missed a chance at not 1, not 2, but 3 mature deer at the same time.
This is my first year to concentrate on mature bucks, and also doing it with a bow.
I found their bedding area and have pics of them using a dried stream bed to travel to food, but didn't want to get that close just yet. They always travel just after dark, but I was hoping to catch them going early. I have a wide 8, tall even sided 10 and a lopsided 10 (deer on the left below) using the stream.

Last week I cleared shooting lanes for my climber overlooking the stream bed. Tonight, for the firsttime, I went in there and set up, no issues.
15 minues before the end of legal shooting light, I saw a new buck, a non-typical about 50yds away going towards a field. I hit the grunt and he turned and started towards me. Right after that, I saw the lopsided 10 about 20yds from me going behind a clump of trees. I was trying to decide wether to draw while he was behind the tree or wait until he passed. Made the mistake of checking distance one last time and didn't noticed the wide 8 coming down the creek back at 20yds. Busted. He head bobbed, stomped once and jemped into the brush. The other deer went back up the creek. I waited 30 more minutes until packing out, not busting anything on the way. I should have never rechecked the distance (18yds).

If these were the typical does, I wouldn't be worried about going back to the same tree. Will these bucks continue their pattern and do you think I am good to go on Fri afternoon at the same spot?

Climber

That's awesome that you had that many shooters around you at the same time! I would let it cool off a bit and then maybe give it another shot if the wind is perfect for an all day sit.

LanceS4803

X-Tennessean":bcoohndb said:
You will be fine!
All these bucks running together tonight?

Yep. That is what surprised me, I thought they would have separated by now.