Hvac guys??

Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
We have gas heat.
The downstairs doesn’t work. Can anyone point me in the right direction on what to look for? The internet has been more confusing than helpful. I’m not sure what kind of system I have. Crap I hate spending large amount of money on things like this.
Any ideas are greatly appreciated!
 
Nimrod777

Nimrod777

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
30,166
Location
Columbia, TN
Ours just did that, and I thought it was the thermostat. After replacing that, learned it wasn't, and called my guy.

In my case, it was a faulty ground wire.
 
Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
Oh, and there is separate thermostats for upstairs and downstairs if that makes any difference in response anyone may be able to give.
 
J

jb3

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,493
Location
Burns, TN
check thermostat batteries.

check combustion air fan as it maybe stuck.

Take off the panel on your unit and look for a flashing red light. Then look on the inside cover and see if you can correlate what the problem is.
 
Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
The downstairs thermostat doesn’t seem to have batteries it is one of the old school ones. Not digital. To be honest I’m not even sure where the unit is? I think the big thing in the attack is an air handler? The two things outside, idk..
 
Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
It’s a package unit w heat exchanger type thing. I don’t think it’s coming on or not staying on or something.
It says on the unit the exchanger was changed last in 02’. I guess that’s probably not good lol
 
Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
There is four burners. The one on the far left will light on. Then go out. Light back on for about ten seconds then go out. There is some not so good noise before it cuts off. Crap. Looking like this may be out of my league.
 
Nimrod777

Nimrod777

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
30,166
Location
Columbia, TN
How long since you had the exchanger inspected? Your HVAC may be trying to save your life!

I've got a guy, but I'm not sure if he goes as far as Old Hickory or not. He's good stuff.
 
double browtine

double browtine

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
6,962
Location
Cheatham/Montgomery County
If you have a gas pack, then sounds like it could be a thermocouple is malfunctioning. Or if you have a heat pump, could just be a capacitor.
 
Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
Look at the burner second from left
 

Attachments

  • 0B2B7A81-846B-4D7F-87DB-79EE9AC5CC60.jpeg
    0B2B7A81-846B-4D7F-87DB-79EE9AC5CC60.jpeg
    62.1 KB · Views: 499
Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
It’s got low pressure.
I’m thinking the orifice(hole thing) lol is clogged a bit maybe?
I had to get the other burners lit with a long match.
Probly stupid and unsafe. Idk maybe I can fix it.
 
Mudbone

Mudbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
7,569
Location
Old hickory Tn
Boom!!
Just a dirty orifice in the second burner was keeping gas from gettin to the others. Cleaned the lil hole out with a bread tie, put back together and they all lit right off. It’s workin properly for now.
Ye your right Carlos, it’s old but most the parts are new aside from the exchanger which I’m thinking the date could be wrong because it looks shiny and new. We’ve only been in this house like four years so idk. Hopefully I can make it through the winter. Thx guys!
Feels good to fix this and save the money which I am sure would have been significant.
 
M

mike243

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
16,763
Location
east tn
It will probably stop up again,little ol black critters with pincers in the front get in there then die,stops it up normally have to take apart and blow out,you may have broken it up enuf to pass thru ,time will tell
 
Nimrod777

Nimrod777

Well-Known Member
Supporter
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
30,166
Location
Columbia, TN
You're running a carbon monoxide detector in the house, yeah?
 
M

mike243

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
16,763
Location
east tn
any body with a gas furnace or a wood stove ect needs at least 1 CMD ,it saved my brotherinlaw and his family when they had a chimney problem,get 1 please and every body change battery's in your fire alarms
 
dralarms

dralarms

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
3,731
Location
athens, tn
mike243":2ltaknr2 said:
any body with a gas furnace or a wood stove ect needs at least 1 CMD ,it saved my brotherinlaw and his family when they had a chimney problem,get 1 please and every body change battery's in your fire alarms


Fantastic advice.
 

Similar threads

RUGER
Replies
36
Views
2K
jlanecr500
jlanecr500
1bow4me
Replies
1
Views
181
Drycreek
D
TheAirMan
Replies
7
Views
330
KPH
C
Replies
12
Views
415
chall19477
C
U
Replies
9
Views
2K
jlanecr500
jlanecr500

Latest posts

Top