• Help Support TNDeer:

Hog Plan

Nimrod777

Supporter
I'm scheduled to go on an Ironman Outdoors hog hunting retreat here in just over a week. Despite the fact that I have very little hog hunting experience, I'm trying to plan for success. Just wondering, when it comes to processing a hog, is there anything I need to know beyond what I'm accustomed to doing when processing my own deer? I've got a grinder, and am thinking it's a great chance at making some sausage, but don't want to be guilty of grinding up some cuts I should be enjoying intact.

Omega

Noted!
Also, is the quality of the fat such that I should save all I can for grind mixing with venison?
I think it will depend on what they are feeding on, the ones I got in TX were not too fatty so no real 'extra' fat was to be had. But if they are feeding on corn, beans etc, they may be fat enough to save some. Wild hog that I dealt with don't have the fat that domestic hog have, but mixing some less choice cuts into your venison would work ok, the one I used for venison summer sausage worked real well.

FTG-05

Noted!
Also, is the quality of the fat such that I should save all I can for grind mixing with venison?
Feral hogs or farm-raised hogs?

The former work for a living; I doubt they'll have much fat if any. Same reason they don't much bacon either.

The latter? Hell yes! I got about 45 lbs of lard from my two farm-raised hogs (Holder Farms, Belividere, TN) last year.

ImThere

Cutting it up is pretty straight forward. Find you a good chart picture for your phone so you know what meat you’re cutting. (You may already know, I didn’t) it will make it easier on you. Not much fat on them. Great meat! Good luck!
Wear gloves they carry some nasty germs/ diseases

Pilchard

Wild pigs are lean like deer. Their fat also is not nearly as good as domestic pork when it comes to flavor. I cut all my wild pig sausage with fat from the butcher.