Gah! Another leak!

MickThompson

What's the useful life of copper plumbing? I've got another leak to fix and this one is in the wall of a pipe, not at a joint. House is about 20 years old- I shouldn't be looking to rip everything out and start over, should I? Makes me question the integrity of what's in the walls. Off to Lowe's for more shark bites and pex.

mike243

There are know dates of bad run of materials that cause leaks, sometimes its covered parts and labor

JBell

I’m no expert. But a plumber buddy of mine said those circulators cause them often. Not sure if you have one of those on your house or not. The ones that make instant hot water throughout the house.

MickThompson

JBell":3aavpdrt said:
I’m no expert. But a plumber buddy of mine said those circulators cause them often. Not sure if you have one of those on your house or not. The ones that make instant hot water throughout the house.

Nope, just a standard water heater.

MickThompson

mike243":3j76fb9l said:
There are know dates of bad run of materials that cause leaks, sometimes its covered parts and labor

I don't see how I'd make a claim even if there was a warranty. I'm the second owner and we've had it almost 8 years. I'm just chalking it up to the cost of not renting.

TAFKAP

MickThompson":16b41lim said:
What's the useful life of copper plumbing? I've got another leak to fix and this one is in the wall of a pipe, not at a joint. House is about 20 years old- I shouldn't be looking to rip everything out and start over, should I? Makes me question the integrity of what's in the walls. Off to Lowe's for more shark bites and pex.