Food Plots Frost Seed Help

Hey all this is my first time planting clover in the spring and I'm having a tough time figuring out steps for frost seeding. I have 2 areas around an acre in size I want to plant. I just did a soil test and am waiting for the results, but the area I want to plant is probably anywhere from 6 inches to 2 feet in some spots. Should I till, then frost seed, or should I not frost seed at all? Just lost and thought I'd come here for help. Thanks!

puppy

If it is a new plot I would wait till next Sept and do a really good job of killing the existing weeds/grass and the seed bank by doing "several" till - burn downs cycles. During this time you can also do any lime or fertilizer additions that need to be made. Once Sept rolls around plant the clover with a nurse crop of WW or cereal rye. Sow the WW or rye, cultipack, sow clover then cultipack again. Once you have established a plot you can frost/overseed into it every late winter - early spring to keep it thick and weeds choked out.

If it is a new plot I would wait till next Sept and do a really good job of killing the existing weeds/grass and the seed bank by doing "several" till - burn downs cycles. During this time you can also do any lime or fertilizer additions that need to be made. Once Sept rolls around plant the clover with a nurse crop of WW or cereal rye. Sow the WW or rye, cultipack, sow clover then cultipack again. Once you have established a plot you can frost/overseed into it every late winter - early spring to keep it thick and weeds choked out.
Thank you so much for the great advice. Now if I want to plant say an acre for turkey season, would it even be worth it and do I even have time still?

deerhunter10

Thank you so much for the great advice. Now if I want to plant say an acre for turkey season, would it even be worth it and do I even have time still?