Business owners HCP question?

Tenn.Guy

As a business owner I have a legal, moral issue.

I carry daily. I don't care if customers carry in my place of business. My concern I have a couple employees getting their HCP. My concern in the event something bad did happen, I don't want to lose everything I have and will have due to a lawsuit.

Any thought or solutions? I worry not only about them making a wrong decision but also someone getting in their purse which they keep behind the desk.

I don't want to step on their 2nd amendment, but don't want to lose everything either. I realize chances are slim, but none the less cause for concern.

Diehard Hunter

1) are you an LLC? If not you need to be.

2) develop a policy in conjunction with your lawyer detailing what is expected of your employees. They have a right to carry and protect themselves, but that is all. Make it be known in your policy will not infringe on their right to carry, but they are expected to keep the gun in a secure location at all times and and they are solely responsible for their actions. You might even suggest they purchase and keep a pistol safe at their desk that only they will have access to. You may even consider a cost share with them. That way you have not denied them a right to carry, but you ensure only they can get to the gun.

44fanatic

R.I.P.
Listen to Ralph Valentine on this issue.

As an owner, you cannot infringe upon their rights...its your property and you can establish the rules. Only the government can infringe upon your/their rights.

If you are concerned about an incident in the office, have them leave their firearms in their vehicle, or provide them an individual area that they can secure their firearm. You will probably want to have this policy in writting.