Food Plots Buckwheat coming !

deerfever

I planted before all the rain, this stuff is easy to deal with. It's good stuff to plant if your thinking of something to plant or mix in. My sunflowers are popping up also. Timing is so important when doing this. I am a Novice but enjoy it and all the advice on this site!

Attachments

• IMG_20210509_093556836.jpg
    IMG_20210509_093556836.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 74

deerfever

I look forward to seeing mine I planted two weeks ago. Should really be up by now.
I guarantee it's up nice, mine is not even two weeks old yet. It's raining here again this evening. You get water on buckwheat and it comes up quick! I rotate it in every spring . I really like it!

JCDEERMAN

I'm hoping to plant this in our newly-created plots in early July for a number of beneficial factors. Never planted it, but it seems you can't go wrong with it

rukiddin

Planted 25 lbs of buckwheat Friday. To be honest I've never had the chance to see buckwheat mature out because in NC where I grew up, the deer never let it get up. I planted that on my land here in TN and dang if there weren't 19 does out there in my field yesterday evening. I gotta feeling what I planted Friday will not make it long once it gets up.

BSK

One of the things I like about it is it's just a 10-12 week plant. That means you can plant it into early June and it will just be finishing up about the time you want to plant fall plantings.

It also makes a great "cover crop," in that it can be mixed in lightly (10-20 pounds per acre) with other mixes. Because it comes up so quickly, deer spend their time browsing the buckwheat instead of the plants you are really interested in growing. Nothing knocks down beans and peas faster than early browse pressure (just after germination). Using buckwheat to take the browse pressure of of these more desirable plants gives them a chance to grow to the stage they can handle browse pressure better.