BDC site-in help???

ratsnakeboogy

Ok, I'm mounting the Minox w/BDC reticle on the Remington Ti tonight and I have no idea on where to start with site-in, I have never used a BDC before. It's chambered 30-06 and I'm going to use Remington Core-Lokt 165gr because I've heard good things and they are readily available close to home.

Where should I start, 100yards, 150, 200???

I'm putting this rifle together to hopefully hunt some fields fields in Middle TN next year. I just hunt woods here, so the Model 7 gets the nod.

Any help is appreciated.

fastbs

it's really up to ya. Each load and rifle is going to be a little diffent with the factory BDC reticle set ups.

I zero at 100 then click my scope up however high i want my poi to be at 100 and test it. If your scope adjustments prove to be reliable you can adjust a little for each situation.

a BDC use example... if you want the next line down on the reticle to be 350 yds shoot from 350 and adjust your magnification till the next line down lines up with POI. then remember that magnification for next time you shoot that distance.

ratsnakeboogy

fastbs said:
it's really up to ya. Each load and rifle is going to be a little diffent with the factory BDC reticle set ups.

I zero at 100 then click my scope up however high i want my poi to be at 100 and test it. If your scope adjustments prove to be reliable you can adjust a little for each situation.

a BDC use example... if you want the next line down on the reticle to be 350 yds shoot from 350 and adjust your magnification till the next line down lines up with POI. then remember that magnification for next time you shoot that distance.

That sounds a bit more complicated than I figured it would be. Maybe I'm just thinking about it wrong. I want the true + to be zeroed at 100, so then I just back up to 200 and shoot, then adjust the second line 'till it matches that hole? and so on?

Would it advantageous to zero at 150, then 250, then 350?

fastbs

ratsnakeboogy said: