A question for Labrador owners...

416wbymag

I have been looking at breeds for a new truck buddy and have looked at GSPs, Setters, and a few others and worked my way to the lab. I am looking at training it to hunt sheds.

I have found a 3 month chocolate, but she is out of an AKC show lab, and the sire is AKC registered but he is not a working dog.

My question is, what are the chances this little girl will have a good nose and the desire?

I am thinking that I should wait on one from better lines, but she is really pulling on my strings.

Any opinion would be greatly appreciated.

thetoolman

I have had 2 labs so I am by no means an expert. But labs by nature want to please their owners and can be trained to do just about anything you want them them to do. All it takes is a little patience on your behalf.

farmin68

I haven't owned a lab..yet. But I have researched them. I would be very cautious about buying most any dog out of show stock. The traits desired (large-framed dogs) in the show ring often lead to major hip problems. AKC has contributed to a lot of damage being done to dog breeds over the years.

When I do get a lab, the parents will be certified for hips AND eyes. I had a springer spaniel with bad hips and it is no fun to see the dog you love in pain and struggling to walk at 9 yrs.

Bullfrog

Depends on how serious you are about it. Personally, I wouldn't want one that didn't have parents that weren't hunters. But, it's in their blood. Being 3 mos old, you probably have a shot at a decent dog if she has a high energy level. You can take it out of em, but can't put it in em.

X2 on the hip/eye cert...

MidTN

Someone had a black lab on here a couple of weeks ago trying to find a home for him. I don't remember who posted the thread.

Little help.

rabbit hunter