2nd floor joist load question

W

wayne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
6,238
Location
Grundy
New home construction. Ceiling joist are 16' 2x6 on 16" centers. It's too late in the construction to change the joist size, but if the joist were doubled, would it be strong enough to support a room above?
1ba438a11a5ea4434a180bba438d7b4d.jpg


Sent from my QTASUN1 using Tapatalk
 
H

harley 2008

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
1,347
Location
mont tn
Just go in and nail 2x8 beside your 2x6, I wouldn't double it with 2x6, It will pass codes then.
 
W

wayne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
6,238
Location
Grundy
Update: ceiling joists are 2x8 not 2x6.


Sent from my QTASUN1 using Tapatalk
 
W

wayne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
6,238
Location
Grundy
harley 2008":qspifvyk said:
Just go in and nail 2x8 beside your 2x6, I wouldn't double it with 2x6, It will pass codes then.
When you said 2x8 it rattled my brain. They are 2x8. Not 2x6.

Sent from my QTASUN1 using Tapatalk
 
Crazyeye

Crazyeye

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
265
Location
West TN
I would think adding an additional 2x8 in between would accommodate most rooms. I have seen 2x 8 on 12” centers used. Yours would be 8” centers. Would also help to block or cross brace in between.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Crazyeye

Crazyeye

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
265
Location
West TN
Forgot to add that i would still get an engineer to sign off on it though. That is the only way to be sure and protected.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
P

Polar Kraft

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
440
Location
Middle Tennessee
Alot of codes dept will require a engineer letter on something like that. The addition of a second floor can sometimes be restricted by the size of the footing. If the footing is minimum width/thickness for a single story a second floor would not be permissible by code unless the footing can carry the load. If you need an engineer PM me. I work for a engineer that does that sort of thing everyday

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
 
P

Polar Kraft

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
440
Location
Middle Tennessee
Also that LVL may not take the load. I'd definitely get an engineer.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
 
R

rhinoblake

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
134
Location
Maryville, TN
It all hinges on the LVL size and calculations to support a floor load. That same LVL will also bear the ceiling Joists, well techNicaly it bears 1/2 of each load. I will send you my number. I don’t mind to help anyway I can.
 
W

wayne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
6,238
Location
Grundy
It's actually 2 LVL beams

Sent from my QTASUN1 using Tapatalk
019d84269082dde07893086e805adade.jpg
 
R

rhinoblake

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
134
Location
Maryville, TN
Sorry. I didn’t put LVL(s). Plys depends on your width of stud obviously
 
R

rhinoblake

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
134
Location
Maryville, TN
Just saw your pic. Your roof is supported on those LVLs, I see now you won’t have a ceiling load. The live and dead loads are increased with a floor load instead of the ceiling load the beams were intended for. Hard to slap another one in there now, but if you want the square footage better late than never.
 

Similar threads

Slacker
Replies
12
Views
919
Urban_Hunter
U
TNDeerGuy
Replies
6
Views
1K
Mudbone
Mudbone
L
Replies
17
Views
2K
Farm manager
F
Roost 1
Replies
13
Views
648
Roost 1
Roost 1
J
Replies
0
Views
139
Jon54
J
Top