209 blackhorn vs 777 pellets??

TNGRIZZLY_

2-Step Enabled
I have been using the 777 pellets for 20 years now, but I been seeing where you guys have been talking about 209 blackhorn. So what the pro and cons of both?? Thanks

iowavf

My 15th shot is like my 1st shot with no cleaning between shots. With 777 pellets I had to fire the ML to foul the barrel because it was way off with a clean barrel compared to a dirty barrel, then I was good for about 5 or 6 shots before it would start to wonder or get really hard to load due to the crud ring. I didn't like to use a wet patch then dry between shots while hunting. Clean up with solvent and not hot soapy water.

Wobblyshot1

If you've been using 777 pellets for 20 years, why do you want to change now? Blackhorn 209 comes only in a loose powder form and is sold in a 10oz bottle. I believe its classed as a solid propellent and not a smokeless powder. IMO this is a stretch(looks like smokeless, smells like smokeless, cleans up with smokeless solvent) but will admit that Western Powders have done a good job in creating a comparatively "hot" black powder substitute. It is not recommended for traditional ML firearms or, I believe, the older inlines. Many on here use it and seemed to be pleased with the results. It is a little pricey. http://www.biggamehunt.net/sites/defaul ... HEET-3.pdf

iowavf

One thing to remember if you switch, Black horn is like loose 777 and is hotter than the pellet loads. 3 777 pellets is equal to 150gr load, but if you use BH or loose 777 powder which is 20% hotter, 120gr by volume is considered a max load or equivalent to 3 50gr 777 pellets.

GMB54

If you run the cost per shot numbers then BH209 is cheaper than pellets.

4375gr in 10oz
84gr by weight is the max load
52 shots for a max load per bottle
Its $38 per bottle at Cabelas
So 73 cents per shot
73 shots for a 100gr equivalent load or 59 cents per shot but it will produce more fps than 2 pellets.