Tndeer Logo

Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
#3828090 - 11/10/14 09:42 AM Deer processing, whats your technique?
Rocky Top
4 Point

Loc: Maury County, Tennessee

I have been processing my own deer for about 8-10yrs now but just wondered what different techniques there are on here. I know some people that hang theirs for several days, some that soak the meat in a cooler, some that go straight to the freezer.

I usually hang mine from an equipment barn for a little while, if the highs are in the 40's maybe all day and over night. Once skinned I don't quarter it but cut the meat off the bone from there in the pieces that I want. I start with the backstraps, then I take what meat I want off the front shoulders for burger meat, then I go to the hind quarters and cut the roasts off there. From the hind quarters I get what I call two "round" roasts and then 4 "sirloins". I now there are more efficient ways of processing out there but this is a mostly my self taught way. The majority of the rest of the meat and bone I smoke/grill for the dogs. From there I put the meat into a cooler, let it soak a little bit to remove excess blood and then freeze what I don't want to use right away.

The reason I started this topic is to just gain knowledge from everyone out there that process their own deer so any comments or ideas are welcome. I seen somewhere the other day a popular way of storing deer meat is to can it.... My momma and even myself can a lot of vegetables or fruits but meat.... I can do SPAM but....

Aim small, miss small.

#3828352 - 11/10/14 12:44 PM Re: Deer processing, whats your technique? [Re: Rocky Top]
DntBrnDPig
8 Point

Loc: Cleveland, TN

I dont have the stuff to let a deer hang. I'm like you - I debone everything into the cuts. I mostly take the backstraps, loins, and rear roasts off. Everything else I try to get as much as I can but it has so much sinew that you have to have a decent grinder to take care of.