Page 5 of 5 <12345
Topic Options
#3391730 - 10/07/13 01:15 PM Re: Shoot him? [Re: BSK]
Thicketmaster
4 Point

Loc: eads,tn

content Online
 Originally Posted By: BSK
No scientific evidence exists that large-antlered bucks produce large-antlered offspring, or that small-antlered bucks produce small-antlered offspring. In fact, just the opposite is true, small and large-antlered bucks produce male offspring of all sizes and shapes.

The evidence does not exist? Why do people all over the country buy breeder bucks for there farms & ranches I think if you have big antler deer on your farm they are passing the genes on I've got a farm that I've been hunting for 15 years and almost all the bucks have short or no brow tines I think either the bucks or does one has got to be throwing these deer? I know soil has got a lot to do with antler growth but I've seen places that some huge bucks have come from and there are some big 4 point 5 year olds running around.

#3391815 - 10/07/13 02:35 PM Re: Shoot him? [Re: Thicketmaster]
BSK
Jerkasourous of the non-typical kind
Non-Typical

Loc: Nashville, TN

Originally Posted By: thicketmaster
No scientific evidence exists that large-antlered bucks produce large-antlered offspring, or that small-antlered bucks produce small-antlered offspring. In fact, just the opposite is true, small and large-antlered bucks produce male offspring of all sizes and shapes.

The evidence does not exist? Why do people all over the country buy breeder bucks for there farms & ranches...

Because there are suckers born every day. The breeder buck business is one of the biggest scams going. Unfortunately, most buyers don't have the scientific background to understand they are being scammed.

Quote:
I think if you have big antler deer on your farm they are passing the genes on.

And your proof of that? I would say, if you regularly have large-antlered bucks on your farm, you have some good habitat in the area.

Quote: