Tndeer Logo

Page all of 9 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#3240925 - 05/07/13 04:47 AM Bible Question
SilverFox
12 Point

Loc: Kodak TN

Which Bible do you read? Why?

I was brought up in a Baptist Church and still have the 2 Bibles they gave us. One as a small kid around 5 or 6 and then another when I graduated from High School. The second is a study Bible. Both are KJV.

I'm wanting to move to another Bible that's easier to read. I've read out of several Bibles over the years. One I kept with me at work was the new world translation. I wasn't really fond of it but it was easy to read and I could go back and forth between it and my study Bible. I've never been good at reading comprehension... So the easier the better for me.

Thanks

#3240938 - 05/07/13 05:35 AM Re: Bible Question [Re: SilverFox]
BlountArrow
10 Point

Loc: SouthEast Tenn

If it ain't King James....it ain't bible.
Just kidding, I saw it on a bumper sticker the other day. I been using the NKJV myself, but I was not persuaded by a bumper sticker. My pastor preaches from the same. I struggle with the comprehension a lot too. I've been considering something a little easier for a simpleton like me to read and understand as well.

#3240946 - 05/07/13 05:46 AM Re: Bible Question [Re: BlountArrow]
rabbit hunter
14 Point

Loc: Beech Bluff, TN

I do my daily Bible reading from the New Living Translation. It's easy to read and understand.

#3240954 - 05/07/13 05:54 AM Re: Bible Question [Re: rabbit hunter]
Kimber45 Moderator
Peace Maker
16 Point

Loc: Close to Jackson, TN

Good thread and thanks for starting it!

I'm still in the KJV and with my pee poor understanding of the writings you'd think I'd have already made a transition.

Ok study hounds - let's hear it.. I'm watching this thread and making an effort to find the version that most mimicks the KJV but with it broken down so that my mud/slush brain can truly understand what I'm reading \:\)