Tndeer Logo

Page 4 of 4 <1234
Topic Options
#3109333 - 01/04/13 03:12 PM Re: 2013 DIY Deer Processing Drive [Re: Vermin93]
tennesseejb
Button

Loc: Tennessee

It runs me about $100/ea for a processor nearby to do it. Had the first one processed this year, but learned how to do the next two myself while my father in law was in town. Have two hanging right now (one is a buddies) that I plan to at least quarter out tonight, in anticipation of getting out this weekend.

This is my first year hunting, so it's been extremely rewarding to learn the whole process from bullet to freezer (or in some cases, dinner plate).

In terms of supplies, I picked up a hand grinder to get started on some summer sausage, but can already tell that will be the first thing I'll upgrade. It was just hard to cough up the $ on an electric grinder. Anyone had a lot of success with the attachments for a kitchen-aid mixer?

#3109370 - 01/04/13 03:50 PM Re: 2013 DIY Deer Processing Drive [Re: Poser]
pastorbmp
10 Point

Loc: Wartburg,TN

Originally Posted By: Poser
We had a good bit of discussion this year about the merits of DIY processing, so who is going to pledge to starte handling their own deer in the 2013 season?

Started the end of this deer season - don't know why I waited 25yrs to start! I am looking forward to processing all the deer Lord blesses me with myself next year.

1Ti 1:15: ...Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.

#3109386 - 01/04/13 04:03 PM Re: 2013 DIY Deer Processing Drive [Re: tennesseejb]
Poser
Mud Dauber
16 Point

Loc: Tennessee

Originally Posted By: tennesseejb
It runs me about $100/ea for a processor nearby to do it. Had the first one processed this year, but learned how to do the next two myself while my father in law was in town. Have two hanging right now (one is a buddies) that I plan to at least quarter out tonight, in anticipation of getting out this weekend.