Tndeer Logo

Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
#2972997 - 10/08/12 02:15 PM Ridge question
BirdDog123
4 Point

Loc: Tennesssee, US

Hey guys,

So I am a rookie when it comes to scouting terrain. I know deer sign... but was wanting some guidance to ridges. Where I hunt I have seen scrapes on the tops of the ridge and on the bottom where the creek is. There is an abundance of food on both.. ESPECIALLY on the slope of the ridge.. you can't take a step without crushing 10 acorns..

So my question is.. how do whitetails travel these ridges? Do they start at the top and come down? Walking up that ridge this weekend really kicked my tail so I don't see deer traveling up this ridge much. But maybe they travel the top and then cheat through the creek once they hit hte bottoms? This terrain is very steep and there are large hills all around and a creek bottom that runs between the hills.

What do you guys think?

#2973026 - 10/08/12 02:36 PM Re: Ridge question [Re: BirdDog123]
BigD_625
10 Point

Loc: Maury County, TN

We used to find scrape lines following log roads on top of ridges. We assumed that the deer were following the roads. After we started looking around more, it seemed that the scrape/rub lines were acutally crossing the road in different places with trails going off the ridge top. I believe now most of the bucks were crossing the road, and more does were following it. If it was a hot doe, the buck followed the her wherever. Our best spots were usually bottlenecks where several ridge points came together.

Just my opinion.

#2973032 - 10/08/12 02:40 PM Re: Ridge question [Re: BirdDog123]
strutandrut
Non-Typical

Loc: signal mountain