Opinions about Min/Max loads??

DaveTN

I'm making up some Cowboy loads. Their rules are they can't exceed 1000 fps for revolvers and 1400fps for rifle.

I want to make up .38 special's that I can use the same round in 5.5" revolvers and 18" lever rifle.

These are light loads, I don't have any concerns about blowing a gun up, but I do have concerns about squibs.

I'm using Titegroup, 125 grain RNFP Hi-Tek coated from Missouri Bullet co, CCI #500 SPP.

Hodgdon data center says for 125gr cast LRNFP with Titegroup "starting load" 3.2gr, 856fps "Maximum load"3.8gr, 985fps. with 7.7" barrel.

So here's my question.. Common sense tells me to start right in the middle of these numbers at 3.5gr. I'm not at the max, I shouldn't be over the velocity, but I also shouldn't be running the risk of a squib.

Is something wrong with my thinking?

nso123

I shoot Steel Challenge, so I have some experience with this. We don't have to meet a power factor like USPSA or IDPA, so it's common to load rounds down. In my pistol caliber carbine I am running a 125gr 9mm load at 850 fps. This requires going below the listed minimum load which is cause to be very cautious. If you are within the boundaries of the published load data you will be fine. I will tell you, from my experience, if you are in the 900-925 fps range out of your pistol, you will probably be over 1000 in your rifle. Start toward the bottom of the published data and see how the recoil impulse is for you.

DaveTN